Tennessee State Law and The City of Brentwood Municipal Code Section 62-51 and 62-52 require businesses that are located within the municipality to obtain a business tax license and pay an annual business tax. The application fee for the business license is $15.00 and is issued by the City of Brentwood. The application can be downloaded (see below) and mailed in with the application fee to the address below or brought in to the office. We accept cash or check only.
City of Brentwood
PO Box 788
Brentwood, TN 37024
Please see the link below to determine your business classification, tax rate and other tax information. The business tax is due annually by filing a Municipal Business Tax Return BUS416 with the State of TN, Department of Revenue. Tax is based on your gross sales/income for your fiscal year and the rate is based on the classification of your business. Tax returns are due on the 15th day of the 4th month following the end of your fiscal year. Penalty and Interest (currently 7.25%) will apply if taxes are not paid on time.
If the physical location of your business is your home address, you must first obtain a Home Occupation Permit from the Codes department. This application can be downloaded (see below) and mailed in or brought in to the Codes Department.
Businesses located in the Brentwood city limits are also required to obtain a business license from Williamson County. Contact the County Clerk’s office at 615-790-5732 for more information.
If your business closes, you must file a final business tax return with the Tennessee Department of Revenue with 15 days of closing.